Did Someone Say Triathlon?

Posted: October 4, 2010 in Uncategorized

Welcome to my new site- its really a continuation of www.125milebike.wordpress.com, but I’ve changed the URL to more accurately reflect my ambitions. Now that I’ve knocked back the 125 mile ride, I’m setting my sites on some triathlons next year. I’ll probably start with a sprint triathlon- that usually consists of about a 1/4 to 1/2 of a mile swim, 10 to 15 mile bike, and a 2 to 4 mile run.

10 to 15 miles on the bike shouldn’t be too hard for me since I capable of 100+mile rides, though I’ll have to train different for this, focusing on speed versus endurance. I’m not too worried about the running either. I’ve never been a strong long distance runner, but a couple of weeks ago, 6 months out from knee surgery, I notched a 5-mile, 41 minute run on a whim.

So the real challenge for me here will be the swimming. I only learned to swim about 5 years ago, and had a pretty scary incident in the water a couple of years before that. Since learning to swim I can go in pools, although I’m still a little leery of the deep end, and I don’t like swimming in open bodies of water, or in situations where I can’t see bottom. So for me, a triathlon will be as much of a mental as physical of a challenge- but I’m looking forward to it.

Right now I’m dealing with IT band strain, and am planning on taking it easy for the next couple of weeks (though I’m considering a 5k), but I’ll still be training. I’m hoping to find a place with a good swim instructor who can coach me on areas I need work on: namely treading water, stroke styles & not drowning, lol.

So stay tuned, you just might be looking at a triathlete in the near future!

Comments
  1. Patrick says:

    Whats up buddy! Good luck in your training for the triathalon! Very motivating dude, good stuff.

Leave a Reply

