Back At It!

Posted: October 25, 2010 in Uncategorized

After trying to recover from my IT Band strain for several weeks, training in the gym with a focus on stretching and strengthening my leg muscles, I’m happy that I was able to go for a run this past weekend. I went on a 3.5 mile run, and my knee didn’t pain me at all. I was definitely sore the next day because it had been so long since I ran, but it was okay. This is great news because it means I can begin more aggressively running and biking again. I’ll be careful this time to gradually ramp up the duration and intensity though.

Even better, this weekend I was also able to play kickball. It may not sound like a big deal, but this was the first time in years I have been able to play a dynamic sport, pain-free and without fear of, or actual injury to my knee. After my knee surgery earlier this year for my torn meniscus, getting on the treadmill was a huge milestone in my recovery. Playing kickball was another, because it involved lateral movements, as opposed to just movement in one plane (like running). Historically, it has been the lateral movements that have caused my knee to become reinjured and to be able to run, pivot & jump without injury was just great.

I’m still a ways off from basketball (it’s mostly mental at this point), but it was really great to be able to get out there and move in dynamic ways. I’m looking forward to continue to progress in my recovery and training over coming weeks. I don’t expect any more extended rides this season, but I’ll definitely continue to bike. I’ll also likely sign up for some 5 or 10k’s as I prepare for next year…

Comments
  1. brisa says:

    good job babe sooner or later it will basketball soon too πŸ™‚

  2. douglaskev says:

    thanks sweetheart πŸ™‚

  3. Robin Parker says:

    Kevin, I will help you train to reach your goals and get into shape. Well maybe I should say I will help you train to win by making the DB practices even more challenging. Proper form will work you core, legs, shoulders and the intensity will help your aerobic. You have 80% of what you need. The mindset and determination.

  4. Jayne says:

    Kev,
    Great site!!! Good luck with your tri training. Keep us updated on the IT band situation.

  5. douglaskev says:

    the IT band hasn’t been bothering me for about a week, so thats great. the bad news is im starting to get shin splints. lol. as soon as i recover in one area, another part of my body starts acting up.

    thanks robin, db practice has definitely helped me get into shape over the past year, its a great workout!

Leave a Reply

