Parkour Jam

Posted: November 6, 2010 in Uncategorized

Went out on a 8.5 mile jog/run with some friends today, which is the furthest I’ve ever run. This was a great confidence booster for me, since sprint triathlons are usually 3 miles or less for the running portion. Even though we ran at an easy pace for the 1st 4 or 5 miles, it still wasn’t as hard as I thought it would be. I realized that if you run slow enough you can run forever! (lol) Which is good news, since I want to run a marathon eventually.

I’ve been able to run several times this week with no major pain, and I’m spending a decent amount of time in the saddle between biking to work & spin class. As soon as I am able to hit the pool, I’ll really feel like I’m training for a triathlon!

Also, after our run we ran into some people that were getting together for a parkour jam (click here if you don’t know what parkour is).  It inspired me to try some of their tricks, which I managed with some success, including jumping forward over low objects with your hands & jumping/climbing up a steep wall. It was kinda fun & I didn’t break my knee 🙂

It sucks that its getting colder though, because it makes biking and other outdoor activities less fun, but I’m looking forward to some good snowboarding as a trade off 😀

-kd

 

click here to view my training log

Leave a Reply

