Crash!

Posted: November 7, 2010 in Uncategorized

Well, I’ve had my first solo bike crash, and am happy that its out of the way. The crash itself was pretty melodramatic, and I was reminded of a very simple bike safety rule as demonstrated in the picture below: always cross train tracks at as close to a 90 degree angle as possible.

Because I approached the tracks at too shallow of an angle, my front tire got caught in the tracks, throwing me off balance and to the ground. Luckily I was only going about 8 mph, and I didn’t suffer any significant injuries. I’ve got a nice little patch on my left knee with no skin & my right shoulder is bruised and pretty sore, but that’s about it. Thank goodness I was dressed for the cold weather because my knee, shoulder and hand would have all been worse off: I skimmed off about two layers of the glove on my left hand, which otherwise would have been my skin.

my knee, ow!

 

My bike has toe straps, (not toe clips, which you snap into like ski’s), and the accident happened too fast for me to be able to take my feet out, so the bike and I went down as one. Its too bad no one was filming, because I’m sure the crash would be pretty entertaining from an onlookers perspective. (Who doesn’t like to see someone crash their bike?) In all seriousness though, I’m actually glad I was in toe-clips and couldn’t get my leg free. I fear otherwise I would have stuck out my leg and hit the ground at some weird angle causing a worse injury (once you’ve torn your meniscus, all you can think about it how easy it is to tear stuff in your knee).

Knowing I hadn’t broken or torn anything, I immediately inspected my bike for damage as soon as I got up. Luckily it’s mostly superficial scratching. I did bend the left handlebar inwards, but luckily the break/gear shifter still work okay. The housing is in an akward position now, but its still rideable, and I’m just glad I did no expensive damage.

The most ironic thing about the whole situation was that I had literally just left a bike shop with a new set of Mr. Toughy tire liners designed to help prevent flats. Instead of eying the copious amounts of glass on the road, worrying about flats (you notice this sort of thing when you’ve gotten enough flats on your way to work), I guess I should have been paying attention to not crashing. Although, from another perspective, the crash took less time out of my trip than a flat would have šŸ˜›

-kd-

Leave a Reply

