Slow Start, but a Start

Posted: January 7, 2011 in Uncategorized

So I’ve definitely got my work cut out for me. I got to the gym at 6:30 this morning to start my swim training. In the 30 minutes I was in the water, I manged to swim a total of 384 yards, only able a couple of times to knock out 25 at a time without stopping.

I’m starting swim lessons in February, so this month I’m primarily going to focus on building up my stamina & calming my body down so its not so tense. Swimming is supposed to be easy, but for me its really a tough workout just to swim slowly.

Since most sprint triathlons are about 1/4 mile swim (~880 yards), my goal is to build up to the point where I can swim 1,000 yards without stopping. For now, time isn’t as important as finishing. Here’s hoping I can look back on this post a few months from now and pat myself on the back for making some progress.

-kd-

Leave a Reply

