Frostbite 5-mile Results!

Posted: February 20, 2011 in Uncategorized

This past weekend marked the official start of my 2011 season. I competed in the 12th annual Frostbite 5-miler. It was a rolling course on a crisp day (about 45 degrees) with wind gusts up to 50mph!! I had been shooting for a sub-40 minute time, and I was thrilled to finish just under at 39 minutes 33 seconds.

Overall, I was pleased with my resultsout of 1,341 runners I finished 260th. Out of the males, I finished 197 of 687, and in my division (males 25-29) I finished 27th out of 69 runners. All in all, a pretty solid finish.

This was my first race with my new Garmin Forerunner, and it definitely helped me keep the pace I was looking for. My first mile I finished in 7:45, which would have been better if it weren’t for the crowded, mass start. My second mile was  slower because of the inclines- at one point I noticed I was pulling a 10 minute pace, so I tried to step it up. Through the first two miles it felt pretty effortless and I was concerned I was going to wind up with nothing left in the tank- especially since I planned on kicking up the pace at mile 3.

At mile three volunteers had water for us which was perfect timing, because I was finally starting to feel fatigued. From that point on I was in acceleration mode, and continually passed runners, especially on the down-hill portions when I let gravity pull me down the course. Somewhere around mile 4 we switched from the street to a trail, and I kicked it up a second time- I was running at about a 6:50 pace at this point, and was surprised that I still had so much left. My last kick came at 4.5 miles when I essentially starting sprinting to the end of the finish. I was very happy rounding the final turn when I saw the timed scoreboard read 39:20 and I knew I would finish sub 40 minutes.

Overall, I finished with an average pace of 7:44. Based on how much I was able to kick in the last mile, pulling sub 7’s,I think in the future I’m going to concentrate on more evenly distributing my effort, and try to run 7:30’s, instead of 8:00’s with the final mile or so sprinted. All in all, I’m happy with my effort & looking forward to my next race!

-kd-

Leave a Reply

