100!

Posted: March 30, 2011 in Uncategorized

Monday I reached another milestone in my swim training- I was able to swim, freestyle, for 100m before resting.  While I’ve been logging swim sessions way longer than that with small breaks, this was the first time I was able to swim that far in one go. I’d like maybe another month before my triathlon so I could get up to 450m without stopping, but at this point there’s only 2.5 weeks left.

I’m pretty happy overall though- every practice I get better. This morning I did a 500yd piece in 18 minutes- slower than my fastest time of 15 minutes, but I did this 500 in 125yd increments with 15 seconds of rest in between, versus 50yd increments with 15 seconds rest.

I also tried out my new snorkeling gear this morning at the suggestion of my swim instructor. It allows me to swim long distances without having to break the surface for air, so I can focus on building endurance. It was a little more uncomfortable than I anticipated, but once I got going it was fine. Plus it’s good practice for my upcoming trip to the keys!

-kd-

Leave a Reply

