Recovery

Posted: May 17, 2011 in Uncategorized

So its happened again- I’ve worked myself too hard. Between being sick for over a week but not reducing my workouts, getting hit by allergies at the same time and not getting enough sleep, I found myself to be pretty beat last week. I should have rested, but I instead made the mistake of engaging in strenuous physical activities for two more days in a row- trail running and playing intense basketball.

I went on the trail run with a co-worker, not really expecting the amount of vertical we encountered. The run was about 4.5 miles, and I ran 6.5 miles total including my run to and from the trail. The next day I knew I needed to take it easy so instead of lifting, biking, running or swimming, I thought I would just shoot some hoops for fun. Of course more people showed up and convinced me to play. It was the first time I had played ball in probably a year or more, and it just exhausted me. Towards the end I could feel my calf muscles beginning to cramp up.

Taken by themselves, if i hadn’t been already strained, I probably would have been okay, but two days in a row was a mistake. Every muscle in my body from my calves to my glutes to my lats have been sore for several days. I’ve taken 4 days off and am beginning to feel better, and am hopeful I can get back to things tomorrow. My main concern is that I’m able to get back to swim/bike training for my June triathlon. We’ll see.

-kd-

Leave a Reply

