Foot Trouble

Posted: May 7, 2012 in Uncategorized

So the last couple of months have been pretty frustrating. After a hard run in late January, I started experiencing foot pain. It lasted well beyond a day or two, so I thought it wise to lay off for a while. It had the feel of something that needed to heal, so I didn’t run for about 3 weeks.

After the break, I tried to ease back into things with half-mile treadmill runs, but even they brought back pain. I decided to start working on strengthening the muscles in/around my foot, and laid off running again. When I tried to start running again and the pain was still there, I finally decided to go to Physical therapy and see what they could do to me. Based on my symptoms my best guess was metatarsalgia- essentially pain/swelling/bruising at the base of the metatarsals in the foot.

I’ve been going to physical therapy for a week or so now, and am not seeing great improvement. Although the time off my feet is certainly giving me time on the bike and in the pool that I needed, I’m very concerned that I don’t have enough time to build up my conditioning, should my foot even get better, in time for my June triathlon. Its Olympic distance, so its only a 10k run, but I literally haven’t run beyond a mile in several months.

Unfortunately at this point, I’m wondering if it might be a stress fracture- it hasn’t really responded to time off or PT :/ I might go ahead and get an xray/see an orthopedic doctor- I guess what I should have done in the first place.

-kd-

Leave a Reply

