Sesa-what?

Posted: May 22, 2012 in Uncategorized

So the verdict is in: stress fracture of the sesamoids in my foot- small bones, underneath the 1st metatarsal in the tendon. I have 4-6 weeks in an orthopedic shoe or boot, follow by up to 6 months of recovery. This seriously sucks. I’ve certainly learned my lesson (follow the 10% rule, see a doctor as soon as a problem arises, don’t do too much forefoot running at once!)

So the most immediate problem this presents me is my June 24th Philadelphia Insurance Triathlon. I’m already registered and paid, and have been looking forward to this since last year, so I’m going to do what I can. I’ll definitely do the swim (.9 miles) and hopefully with the on the doctor’s clearance, the bike (25 miles). The run (10k) is pretty much out.

The next race I was scheduled for after that was the July 18th Back on My Feet team relay– 8.5 mile legs each. That is most definitely out, which also sucks- it was a fun way to hang out w/old co-workers in Philly. The next race after that is the August 5th NYC Central Park Triathlon. I think there is a possibility that I do that one- its just a sprint, meaning the run is only a 5k.

In late September (30th), I was hoping to do the Mighty Man Montauk Triathlon. That is questionable as well. It also has a 10k run, but I certainly hope by September I am able to run a 10k. We’ll see. That just leaves the November 2nd NYC Marathon. I was lucky enough to get in via lottery, but I’m not sure if I’ll have enough time to adequately train and build up to marathon-distance.

Right now, I’m just going to focus on swimming, which was my weakest leg of the triathlon anyway. Either way this sucks, but I know it could be worse, and I’m trying to focus on the lessons learned.

-kd-

Leave a Reply

