Long Recovery

Posted: October 9, 2012 in Uncategorized

Its been a while since I’ve been able to run, and its been a major drag this year. I had to pull out of every event I was registered or planned to do, including several Olympic Triathlons, and my second marathon. After originally injuring my foot in February, I tried to take it easy for a while, but it didn’t get better and so I saw an orthopedic doctor in May. He diagnosed a stress fracture and put me in a boot for 5 long weeks during the summer. After checking in with the doctor he said I could give running a try again, and so I did. Unfortunately the pain came back, he said I hadn’t healed and referred me to a podiatrist.

I continued to lay off running and saw the second doctor in august who had me use a bone stimulator to help the fracture heal. After 5 weeks of two 20 minute sessions a day, I’m supposedly ready to start running again, and was already signed up to use the therapeutic Alter G treadmill,  but in the past few days walking around I’ve felt some discomfort in my foot. This is just getting ridiculous, and has been incredibly frustrating. I’m not sure were I go from here. Both doctors have previously mentioned foot surgery as a last resort option. I’m not at all interested in going that route, but after 7 months and two different 5 week interventions, I’m not sure what other options are out there. :/

-kd-

Leave a Reply

