New Year, New Troubles

Posted: January 8, 2014 in Uncategorized

runners-knee-injury1Just a couple of weeks into the New Year, and I’m already looking at some potential issues. In late December I went for a few runs in a new pair of sneakers- the Nike Lunarglide 4, and both times I felt some discomfort. The shoes forced me to land flat footed, and resulted in lower back pain, and worse, forefoot pain in my right foot- right where I’ve previously fractured it. I decided to shelve the shoes for running, and return to my old sneakers, but unfortunately my last two runs have resulted in significant knee pain.

After doing some research online it seems I have “runner’s knee”- a common overuse injury. I decided to take a week off- including missing a 10k I was signed up for. It’s not easy to do, but I’ve been down the road of ignoring early signs of overuse and have always paid for it. I have too many goals this season to start off the wrong way, so I’ve been trying to do the right thing- not run, rest, ice, elevate the knee etc. After a week I’m going to start stretching and strengthening my lower body- something I’ve typically neglected, like a lot of endurance athletes, with the mistaken belief that the running and cycling in and of themselves were sufficient strengthening.

I’m excited about two books I recent bought: “The Athlete’s Pocket Guide to Yoga”, which will help me do stretching at home, and a book I’ve eyed for a long time- Joel Friel’s “The Triathlete’s Training Bible”. The only question at this point is how long I’m going to have to lay off running. However long it takes though, I’ll wait. Still plenty of time left to get in shape for this year’s races.

-kd-

Leave a Reply

